The Druze Faith 2018-07-30T07:30:47+00:00

The Druze Faith

The Druze religion is a universal religion in which monotheism is the central element. The Druz religion is a secret and is known only to a small group of members of the community called “the Okal”, while the other Druze are called “Johal”. Religion is not a cult or a ritual but a neo-aplatonic philosophy.

According to the Druze belief, during the days of al-Hakim, the last chance was given to join the “Muhaddun”, and nowadays no one can join the Druze religion unless he was born as a Druze.

Over the years, the Druze have experienced hostile and sometimes cruel treatment by the devout Muslims. Since the Druze were initially a small and closed community, they suffered from particularly hostile attitude. The Druze religion has adopted the “taqiyya” – the duty of concealing religion in times of  crisis by blurring the faith from an external symbols in order to adapt to their surroundings.

The main elements of the Druze religion

  • “Al-Tawhid” – belief in one God

  • “אלתקמץ” – the belief in reincarnation and the eternity of the soul, meaning, once the soul of a person leaves its body, it is immediately transferred to a body of a newborn.

  • The Five Prophets – Faith in the Five Prophets who founded and wrote the Druze religious books, symbolizing the community’s flag in the five colors: green, red, yellow, blue, white.

Manners and customs:

  1. “Adab Al-San” – it is forbidden to lie, either denial of the existence of God or falsification of things (Prohibition of gossip, false oaths, profanity and contempt for others).
  2. “Adab al-Ein” – God created the human eye in order to study the books of religion and wisdom, and see with it all wonders created by God, and from these wonders man will learn and wisdom.
  3. “Adab to the ear” – what was commanded to the tongue and eye is also commanded to the ear, not listen to gossip and lies and anything that might harm the mind,soul and heart.
  4. “Hafed Al-Khawan” – the duty to participate in social life: weddings, funerals, visiting the sick and being together while defending religion, family honor, land, community and state.
  5. Benefit and Grace –
    1. The rich must contribute to the poor.
    2. The poor should not behave in a wasteful manner.
    3. It is not commanded for every person to give charity, each person gives according to his ability.
  6. “Will” – every adult must write a will in which he will inherit his assets according to his willingness.
  7. Education of the children – there is a division between the parents. The father will take care of the education of the son, while the mother of the daughter’s.